St. Edward the Confessor Parish School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Always Learning
Digital Literacy » Digital Tools for Education

Digital Tools for Education

Digital Educational Tools and Websites

Motion and Force interactive sites (Gr.5-8) - http://www.learningscience.org/psc2bmotionforces.htm
Speed, Distance, and Time Virtual Lab -http://www.glencoe.com/sites/common_assets/strcience/virtual_labs/E12/E12.html
Velocity Park interactive (requires Flash) - http://vital.cs.ohio.edu/?page_id=255
Interactive Sites -Physics: Force and Motion - http://interactivesites.weebly.com/physics-and-motion.html
The Science Spot - Physics lessons plans - http://sciencespot.net/Pages/classphys.html
Scriber Monkey - http://www.scibermonkey.org/teacher_results.asp?page=KS46.2 - speed, velocity, acceleration
Science of NFL Football - https://www.nbclearn.com/science-of-nfl-football/cuecard/50770
Concord Consortium - https://concord.org Help your students learn with hundreds of interactive, research-based resources covering a huge variety of science, engineering, and math topics.
Velocity and Acceleration - ck12 - http://www.ck12.org/physics/Velocity-and-Acceleration/

The Periodic Table - http://www.nclark.net/PeriodicTable.html
Photographic Periodic Table - http://www.periodictable.com
Interactive Periodic Table - http://excelhero.com/periodic-table/
Interactive Periodic Table in pictures and words - http://elements.wlonk.com/ElementsTable.ht

Art

Artsonia - a free website where you can upload pictures of student artwork. Parents can even purchase high-quality custom keepsakes with their child’s art.  


Soundbiblehttp://soundbible.com Free sound effects


BINGO - create custom Bingo cards for checking vocabulary or other knowledge. Can print or use online. https://bingobaker.com


Videos series for ELA for ELLs - https://www.teachingchannel.org/videos/ethos-pathos-logos
ESOL courses - http://www.esolcourses.com
FluentU blog - http://www.fluentu.com/english/educator/blog/

ESL Games Plus - also has games for mobile devices - http://www.eslgamesplus.com
10 Vocabulary Games - http://www.fluentu.com/english/educator/blog/esl-tefl-ell-vocabulary-games/

Games and Activities for the ESL Classroom - http://iteslj.org/games


*Money Instructor -https://www.moneyinstructor.com/financial.asp
iPad apps for teaching eceonomics K-2 - http://www.erintegration.com/2016/02/19/ipad-apps-for-teaching-economics
Kids Money - http://www.kidsmoney.org/index.htm

Health

Eat & Move-o-matic - http://mediaproductions.nmsu.edu/eatmove/ Learn about foods and how they fuel your body.
Kids Health - sections for parents, kids, teens and educators - http://classroom.kidshealth.org
Kids.gov - site for kids, parents, teachers - https://kids.usa.gov/health-and-safety/health/index.shtml
About Kids Health - from The Hospital for Sick Children in Canada - http://www.aboutkidshealth.ca/En/JustForKids/Pages/default.aspx
Nutrition for Kids - I recommend this for teachers because there is some shopping at the bottom. - http://www.nutritionforkids.com/kidactivities.htm
Learn to be Healthy - http://www.learntobehealthy.org/health-education/games-and-activities.aspx
Health links - over 40 links - http://www.internet4classrooms.com/links_grades_kindergarten_12/health.htm

Graphic Organizers

Interactive graphic organizers (can fill out online) - http://my.hrw.com/nsmedia/intgos/html/igo.htm
60 Graphic Organizers - to download and print - http://billsteachingnotes.wikispaces.com/Graphic+Organisers
Graphic Organizers for Planning and Writing - http://www.dailyteachingtools.com/free-graphic-organizers-w.html

Interactives

Annenberg Learner - Interactives for all content areas K-12.
https://www.learner.org/interactives/


Keyboarding
https://sites.google.com/site/ateachersbagoftricks/keyboarding-games
Typing CLub - free school edition as well as paid. https://s.typingclub.com/schools.html
Typing.com - free teaecher edition - https://www.typing.com/teacherportal
Learning Games for Kids - keyboarding - http://www.learninggamesforkids.com/keyboarding_games.html
KidzType - lessons as well as games - no class management - http://www.kidztype.com
Dance Mat Typing - http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/z3c6tfr#z34thyc


Keyboarding Zoo - PreK-5 - abcya -http://www.abcya.com/keyboarding_practice.htm
Bif Birwn Bear Ler=arnf to Type - http://bigbrownbear.co.uk/learntotype/
Keyboard Climber - http://www.tvokids.com/school-age/games/keyboard-climber


Math
NumberNut - math from shapes to PreAlgebra. Explanations, activities, quizzes, PDF workbooks, -http://www.numbernut.com
K-12 Math Projects - http://www.ct4me.net/math_projects.htm
Algebra II Projects - https://sites.google.com/a/freedomarea.org/pbl/home/mathematics-projects/algebra-ii-projects
Project Based Learning in your Algebra Classroom - http://edu.stemjobs.com/project-based-learning-in-your-algebra-i-classroom/
Math and Project based learning - 22 amazing resources - https://21centuryedtech.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/part-1-math-and-project-based-learning-22-amazing-resources/
Emergent math -here are problem based curricuum maps - https://emergentmath.com/my-problem-based-curriculum-maps/
Robert Kaplinsky - math problems using real world situations and depth of knowledge questions for K-Algebra 2 - http://robertkaplinsky.com
Making Mathematical Thinking Processes Visible - includes graphic organizers and strategies. https://www.gedtestingservice.com/uploads/files/b1203192e79da26aff79d32f3da2c3e4.pdf
Math Projects Journal (middle and high school) - https://mathprojects.com/lessons/
https://www.youcubed.org/week-of-inspirational-math/ - from Stanford University. Great to start out the year and help students create a growth mindset in math. Also research on teaching math.
https://ispeakmath.org/2012/10/10/solving-equations-monster-math/

https://learnzillion.com/mobile
http://www.virtualnerd.com - middle school through Algebra 2
http://nlvm.usu.edu National Library of Virtual Manipulatives
https://www.mathsisfun.com/definitions/index.html - Illustrated Mathematics Dictionary - can be translated into dozens of languages
http://www.mathopenref.com/index.html
http://www.ck12.org
http://www.mastermath.info/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=3&Itemid=25 - video lessons

Math Interactives - https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulations/category/math for elementary, middle and high school

Math in/out tables - 2 types and 3 levels - http://www.mathplayground.com/functionmachine.html
Geometer’s Sketchpad Resources - http://www.keycurriculum.com/resources/sketchpad-resources/free-activities
BuzzMath - math practice for middle school. Free version as well as paid. https://www.buzzmath.com/Schools

Geometry worksheets - https://www.kutasoftware.com/freeige.html

Algebra 1 PBL - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1BKrbAz-BsrR9twtCVoujHheWQybeA9Sh2p8VFvp7CwE/edit
3Act Math - http://wmh3acts.weebly.com/3-act-math.html
Modeling with Mathematics - https://www.teachingchannel.org/blog/2016/05/13/modeling-with-math-nsf/
More 3 Act Math - Dan Meyer: Three-Act Tasks (grades 6-12)
Graham Fletcher: Three-Act Tasks (grades K-7)
Mike Wiernicki: Three-Act Tasks (grades 2-8)
Andrew Stadel: Three-Act Tasks (elementary-high school)


Real world problems with 2-step equations - http://www.ck12.org/algebra/Solving-Real-World-Problems-Using-Multi-Step-Equations/lesson/Solving-Real-World-Problems-Using-Multi-Step-Equations-ALG-I/?referrer=featured_content (also has an online assessment - takes about 18 minutes)
Coordinate geometry and graphing

Activities for Solving Equations - https://lzlomek.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/activities-for-solving-equations/

Math Playground - K-8 games, including Thinking Blocks. http://www.mathplayground.com
Geoboard - iPad, Google and Windows app. Geoboard is a tool for exploring a variety of mathematical topics introduced in the elementary and middle grades. Learners stretch bands around the pegs to form line segments and polygons and make discoveries about perimeter, area, angles, congruence, fractions, and more. Also online at https://www.mathlearningcenter.org/web-apps/geoboard/ESL
More from Math Learning Center - http://catalog.mathlearningcenter.org/apps

The Art of Triangles - http://www.curriki.org/oer/The-Art-of-Triangles

Interactive Math Tools - http://www.shodor.org/interactivate/tools/ -mostly middle and high school

Math-play.com - works on iPad http://www.math-play.com/equation-games.html
Algebra Melt-down - https://www.mangahigh.com/en-us/games/algebrameltdown
Math games - http://www.hoodamath.com

10 Math Tutorial websites not named Khan - mostly for middle/high school http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2017_04_23_archive.html#.WQAhdBjMygQ

Mind mapping/ Concept mapping
http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2015/11/flowcharts-mindmaps-diagrams.html?m=1
MindMup - www.mindmup.com also an extension for Chrome - free
Text2mindmap https://www.text2mindmap.com/